AL counties awarded grants from Gov. Ivey for highway safety

Updated: Aug. 15, 2018 at 12:31 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Counties in North Alabama have received funding to increase safety patrols during Labor Day weekend.

Gov. Kay Ivey has awarded grants totaling $791,838 to increase patrols and other highway safety measures. Funds will be used by law enforcement agencies in 17 counties that serve the North Alabama Highway Safety Office district.

Counties in this district and whose agencies are eligible funds include:

  • Colbert County
  • DeKalb County
  • Cullman County
  • Fayette County
  • Franklin County
  • Jackson County
  • Lamar County
  • Lauderdale County
  • Lawrence County
  • Limestone County
  • Madison County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Morgan County
  • Pickens County
  • Walker County
  • Winston County

The funds will reportedly cover overtime and other special expenses incurred during major highway campaigns and safety promotions, such as "Click-It-Or-Ticket".

Copyright 2018 WAFF. All rights reserved.