Key races in municipal elections in North Alabama on Tuesday

Published: Aug. 22, 2016 at 8:53 AM CDT|Updated: Aug. 23, 2016 at 6:21 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MADISON COUNTY, AL (WAFF) - Many cities and towns across North Alabama will hold municipal elections on Tuesday. According to the Decatur Daily, some candidates running in the election fear there will be low voter turnout this August, because there are very few hotly contested races.

Those concerns are specifically expressed by Athens' mayor Ronnie Marks who's running unopposed. Also on the ballot in Athens are three unchallenged city council seats, leaving only two other council positions in which voters will have more than one candidate to choose from.

Elsewhere across the Valley, Trinity voters vote on the legalization of alcohol sales along while also electing town leaders. There are also mayoral races in Huntsville, Madison, Decatur and Hartselle.

Additionally, city and town council races will take place in Courtland, Moulton, Priceville, Falkville and Ardmore. Huntsville and Decatur voters will elect new council member as well as new school board members.

Read more at the Decatur Daily.

List of elections taking place in North Alabama
Town/City     County

Albertville     Marshall

Anderson     Lauderdale

Arab            Marshall

Ardmore       Limestone

Athens         Limestone

Boaz           Marshall

Cherokee     Colbert

Crossville     Dekalb

Decatur        Morgan

Dodge City  Cullman

Douglas       Marshall

Elkmont       Limestone

Eva              Morgan

Fairview      Cullman

Falkville      Morgan

Florence     Lauderdale

Fort Payne  DeKalb

Fyffe            DeKalb

Garden City Cullman

Geraldine     DeKalb

Good Hope  Cullman

Gr ant            Marshall

Guntersville  Marshall

Gurley          Madison

Hammondville DeKalb

Hartselle         Morgan

Henagar         DeKalb

Hillsboro         Lawrence

Holly Pond     Cullman

Hollywood      Jackson

Hytop            Jackson

Ider               DeKalb

Killen             Lauderdale

Lakeview      DeKalb

Leighton       Colbert

Lester           Limestone

Lexington     Lauderdale

Littleville       Colbert

Madison       Madison

Mentone       DeKalb

Mooresville   Limestone

Moulton        Lawrence

Muscle Shoals Colbert

New Hope       Madison

North Courtland Lawrence

Owens Cross Roads Madison

Pine Ridge      DeKalb

Priceville        Morgan

Rainsville       DeKalb

Rogersville    Lauderdale

Russellville    Franklin

Saint Florian   Lauderdale

Scottsboro      Jackson

Section           Jackson

Sheffield         Colbert

Shiloh             DeKalb

Skyline           Jackson

Somerville       Morgan

South Vinemont Cullman

Sylvania            DeKalb

Town Creek        Lawrence

Triana                 Madison

Trinity                  Morgan

Union Grove       Marshall

Valley Head        DeKalb

Waterloo             Lauderdale

West Point          Cullman

Woodville            Jackson

You can find today's election results here. WAFF will update as the numbers are made available.

Copyright 2016 WAFF. All rights reserved.