Albertville HS Theatre receive top honors at Trumbauer competition

Albertville High School Theatre at Walter Trumbauer competition
Albertville High School Theatre at Walter Trumbauer competition(Albertville City School System)
Published: Nov. 20, 2023 at 2:50 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ALBERTVILLE, Ala. (WAFF) - Albertville High School Theatre took home some prestigious awards at the recent Walter Trumbauer competition.

The school’s theatre program received not only the Best in Show Award, but also Best Set, Best Costumes, Best Tech and All-Star Cast along with dozens of individual accolades for their performance of “The Fifth Sun.”

The play will now make its way to the state festival at the beginning of December.

The Albertville City School System said this is the first time in Aggie Theatre history that their play will head to the state level. Over half of the 30 students who competed in individual events will also compete at the state festival.

Albertville’s Theatre Teacher Sara Argiro said this is a huge accomplishment for Aggie Theatre especially since a majority of the students involved are brand new to theatre.

“I am beyond proud of every single student who competed, and I am so excited to showcase our bilingual play The Fifth Sun (El Quinto Sol) at the state level,” said Albertville High School theatre teacher Sara Argiro.

A total of 31 out of 33 students had never competed in the Trumbaur before, and every student by the end of the day earned a medal in individual events. Twenty students were chosen to compete at the state festival.

The following were Excellent Medal recipients:

  • Lyric Lane
  • Emily Altimirano
  • Mayra Jimenez
  • Angelina Gomez
  • Leah Grace Minor
  • Kimberly Kuhn
  • Manuel Mandujano
  • Max Perez
  • Yazmin Cortez
  • Joan Cruz Montejo
  • Juana Tercero
  • Yesenia Francisco Pedro
  • Addy Eason

The following were Superior Medal recipients:

  • Jayla Johnston
  • Dulce Garcia
  • Sayla Rose Bennefield
  • Lilly H. Alarcon
  • Sheila Alvarez
  • Kevin Robinson
  • Micaela Reynoso
  • Belsay Merino
  • Ricardo Larios Lorenzo
  • Cassondra Smith
  • Kalee Johnson
  • Kaydence Mason
  • Lizbeth Rodriguez
  • Margarita Francisco Pedro
  • Gabriel Destine
  • Manuel Mandujano
  • Merari Guillermo
  • Catarina Tomas
  • Abby Brown
  • Nahissa Celestin
  • Addy Eason

Jennifer Wiley earned two superior medals – musical dramatic intermediate and acting dramatic intermediate.

The Walter Trumbauer Festival has provided quality training and performance opportunities for Alabama theatre students at the high school level since 1940. The festival consists of 30 individual events, a one-act play festival, a studio theatre one-act play festival – all for grades 9-12, as well as scholarship auditions and college screening for high school seniors.

Click Here to Subscribe on YouTube: Watch the latest WAFF 48 news, sports & weather videos on our YouTube channel!