DeVonta Smith wins the Heisman Trophy Award

Becomes Alabama’s third Heisman Trophy winner in school history
DeVonta Smith wins the Heisman Trophy Award
DeVonta Smith wins the Heisman Trophy Award(WAFF)
Updated: Jan. 5, 2021 at 9:15 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. (WAFF) - He shattered every school receiving record at Alabama and won every major individual award this season. Add the Heisman Trophy to his award mantle.

DeVonta Smith won the 2020 Heisman Trophy Ceremony over fellow teammate Mac Jones, Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence, and Florida’s Kyle Trask.

Smith received 447 First Place Votes. Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence finished second, Alabama’s Mac Jones finished third, Florida’s Kyle Trask finished fourth, and Alabama’s Najee Harris finished fifth.

“To all the kids out there that’s not the biggest, not the strongest, just keep pushing, because I’m not the biggest; I’ve been doubted a lot just because of my size,” Smith said. “Really, it just comes down to if you put your mind to it, you can do it. No job is too big.”

Smith joins running backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) as the third player in Alabama history to win the Heisman Trophy.

Smith is Alabama’s career leader in receiving yards with 3,750, and touchdown receptions with 43. Smith also holds the mark in single-game school records for catches at 15, yards 274 and touchdowns in a game at five.

Smith has 1,641 yards receiving , and 22 total Touchdowns.

Smith also becomes the first SEC Wide Receiver to ever win the award.

Copyright 2021 WAFF. All rights reserved.