Hawaii Wins Little League World Series

SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (AP) - A team from Waipahu, Hawaii has won the Little League World Series, the 4th straight championship for the United States.

Tanner Tokunaga hit two home runs and Iolana Akau added another Sunday to lead the pint-sized players to a 12-3 win over Matamoros, Mexico. Hawaii scored in every inning it came to the plate. That has happened only one other time in series history and that was in 1974.

Hawaii took advantage of several Mexico miscues, scoring runs off three Mexico errors and a bases-loaded walk. Two other runs came in on passed balls.

Caleb Duhay struck out 7 in 5 1/3 innings for the win.

Mexico got as close as 5-3 on a 2-run single by Eduardo Rodriguez and a Jesus Sauceda home run, but Hawaii scored seven times over the 4th and 5th innings to put the game away. All three runs in the 4th came with two out.

A team from Ewa Beach, Hawaii also won a Little League title in 2005. Georgia teams brought home the last two titles.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)