Four SEC Players Named to Walter Camp Watch List

(GAINESVILLE, Fla.) -- Four SEC Players have been named as "players to watch" for the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year award.

They are Auburn defensive tackle Sen'Derrick Marks, quarterback Tim Tebow and wide receiver Percy Harvin of Florida, and Georgia sophomore running back Knowshon Moreno.

A total of 35 players were named to the watch list for the Player of the Year award, the nation's 4th-oldest individual college football accolade which recognizes the best college football player in the nation.

The watch list will be narrowed to 15 semi-finalists in early November.

The 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced in December.

Last year's award went to Arkansas running back Darren McFadden.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation ( - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.