Eight Alabama Players to Receive Degrees Today


(TUSCALOOSA) - Three current and five former Crimson Tide football players will earn their undergraduate degrees today as the University of Alabama holds its August Commencement exercises at 9 a.m. in Coleman Coliseum.

The current Tide players are junior offensive lineman Drew Davis, senior safety Rashad Johnson and senior quarterback John Parker Wilson.

"We are really pleased and happy that we have three players that are going to graduate on Saturday," Alabama head coach Nick Saban said.  "John Parker, Drew Davis and Rashad Johnson, are guys who have certainly impacted this team in a positive way.  I want to congratulate them and their families and I know they are extremely happy. This is what we want guys to do when they come to The University of Alabama. This is what affects the quality of their life forever."

Johnson, a preseason All-SEC safety, will earn his degree in Arts and Sciences.  Said Johnson, "My mom and dad went to college, but neither one finished with a college degree.  So having a college degree is important to me."

Wilson, who is a three-year starter at quarterback and holds single season records for pass attempts, completions, touchdowns and passing yards, will earn a Marketing degree on Saturday.

Davis, who earned the Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award following spring practice, will receive his undergraduate degree in Marketing.  He is talking to advisors, planning on a second degree or master's degree.

Other current Crimson Tide players who have earned an undergraduate degree are senior center Antoine Caldwell (Consumer Science) and senior wide receivers Will Oakley (Marketing) and Nikita Stover (Human Environmental Science).

Five of UA's nine scholarship football seniors will have earned their undergraduate degrees prior to the start of the 2008 season.  Davis would push that number to six, but is only a junior in terms of athletic eligibility.

Five former UA players will also graduate on Saturday, including Charles Hoke (Finance), Zeke Knight (Human Environmental Studies), Terrence Jones (Human Environmental Studies), Tyrone Prothro (Human Environmental Studies) and B.J. Stabler (General Business).