LSU Wins SEC Baseball Tournament

HOOVER, Ala. (AP) -- The LSU Tigers, snubbed when the postseason honors came out, and longshot to win the SEC Tournament, did just that Sunday, beating Ole Miss, 8-2.

Tournament MVP Blake Dean hit a 2-run homer as the Tigers scored the final seven runs to beat Mississippi and win a school-record 20th game in a row, matching Vanderbilt (2007) and South Carolina (2000) for the 2nd longest winning streak in LSU history.

LSU claimed their first SEC tournament title since 2000. They were awarded an NCAA regional host site and are expected to receive one of the eight national seeds on Monday.

Traililng 2-1, the Tigers (43-16-1) came alive with a 5-run fifth. chasing Ole Miss starter Nathan Baker (3-5) with three straight doubles.

Derek Helenihi drove in another run with a sacrifice fly and Blake Dean followed with his 2-run shot to right off reliever Jake Morgan, his 3rd homer of a memorable tournament.

The Tigers have trailed in all but four games during the streak, including all four in the tournament.

LSU tied Alabama for the league lead with its 7th SEC tournament title.

The Rebels (37-24) were the first No. 8 seed to make it to the championship game, advancing for the 3rd time in 4 years despite going into the final weekend battling for a spot. They are expected to receive a regional bid.