UNA Lions Place Two, Plus Their Coach, on the All-GSC Squad

(BIRMINGHAM) - Casey Holt became the first UNA player to be named East Division Player-of-the Year since 1994-95, while Lions' Head Coach Bobby Champagne collected his first-ever East Division Coach of the Year award as the Gulf Coast Conference announced their accolades prior to the start of the post-season.

Champagne guided the Lions to a 23-7 record and the East Division Crown in his 5th season as their head coach.

UNA also placed guard Quinn Beckwith on the first team and forward Thomas Fraise on the second team.

Champagne, 82-62 in his career with the Lions, is the 3rd UNA coach to be named GSC men's basketball coach of the year. Bill Jones was selected twice (1979-80, 1983-84) and Gary Elliott once (1993-94). Champagne has led the Lions to the GSC Tournament in each of his five seasons at the school.

Holt is averaging 18.4 ppg and 8.3 rebounds and has scored in double-figures 26 times this season. He won three GSC East Division Player-of-the-Week honors this season and his 1,133 points ranks 15th in school history.

He is the first East Division Player-of-the-Year from UNA since the late Harris Lendor in 1994-95. Prior to divisional play, UNA has had three other players who were named GSC Player-of-the-Year.

The UAH Chargers placed one player -- guard Tyler Dunaway on the Second Team.

The All-GSC Teams are led by two returning First Team members. Harding's Matt Hall and Christian Brothers' forward Kevin Weybright. Two players make the jump from last year's Second Team: Valdosta State forward Devario Hudson and Christian Brothers center Nick Kohs.

The First and Second Team selections:

    Guard  Terrill Humphrey, Montevallo (Jr.)
    Guard/Fwd. Casey Holt, UNA (Sr.)
    Guard  Quinn Beckwith, UNA (Sr.)
    Forward  Devario Hudson, Valdosta State (Sr.)
    Guard  Ricky Coleman, Valdosta State (Sr.)  

    Guard  Darren Tarver, Arkansas Tech (Sr.)
    Forward  Kevin Weybright, Christian Bros. (Sr.)
    Center  Nick Kohs, Christian Bros. (Jr.)
    Forward  Matt Hall, Harding (Sr.)
    Forward  Ed Keyes, Ouachita Baptist (Jr.)

    Guard  Tyler Dunaway, UAH (Sr.)
    Forward  Thomas Fraise, UNA (Jr.)
    Guard  Terrence Hundley, West Georgia (Sr.) 
    Guard  Doug Daniels, West Georgia (Jr.)
    Forward  Paul Harper, West Georgia (Jr.)

    Gd./Fwd.  Jamar Flowers, Arkansas Tech (Jr.)
    Guard  Ernesto Green, Delta State (Jr.)
    Guard  Trent Morgan, Harding (Jr.)
    Guard  Antoine Vinson, Henderson State (Sr.)
    Forward  Merno Rodriguez, Ouachita Baptist (Sr.)