Havoc win SPHL President's Cup

Havoc win SPHL President's Cup
(Source: WAFF)

PEORIA, IL - The Huntsville Havoc made SPHL history Sunday night by becoming the first fourth-seeded team to win the President's Cup championship.

The Havoc beat the Peoria Rivermen 4-2 in game three of the Southern Professional Hockey League finals. The Illinois game was a tiebreaker after the Havoc fell to the Rivermen in Huntsville Friday night.

This is the Havoc's first President's Cup victory since 2010.

"I couldn't be more proud of our team," Havoc Head Coach Glenn Detulleo said in a press release. "We played our most complete and best game when it mattered most."


Scott Trask drew first blood for Huntsville by cleaning up a flurry of close shots in front of Rivermen goalie Tyler Parks and hitting one home to give the Havoc a 1-0 lead that they kept into the first intermission.

In the middle frame, Peoria had a golden opportunity when two Rivermen went up against Huntsville keeper Keegan Asmundson on a breakaway, but the Havoc goalie laid out a save and kept Peoria scoreless.

The Havoc had a 3-1 lead at the second break.

Each team scored once in the third period, clinching Huntsville's victory.

Huntsville had beaten the Rivermen in Peoria only once all season in game one of this series. Peoria won 21 games in their arena, more home wins than any other team. They finished first in the league and were in the SPHL finals for the third straight year.

A victory parade was held Tuesday in Huntsville.

Copyright 2018 WAFF. All rights reserved.