NASA, Marshall recognize 'extraordinary' team members at annual - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

NASA, Marshall recognize 'extraordinary' team members at annual honor awards

Marshall Team Awards Marshall Team Awards

NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, today at its 2016 Honor Awards ceremonies recognized more than 280 Marshall employees,
contractors and teams who supported a variety of programs, projects and activities for Marshall and NASA in 2015-16.
"I'm honored to work with a team of this caliber," said Marshall Center Director Todd May as he welcomed the honorees and their families to the ceremony. "Because of you, I know the challenge of the journey to Mars is solvable. It is very hard, but step-by-step we're solving it everyday."
The nation's journey to Mars inspired this year's awards ceremony theme -- "Exceptional Journey. Extraordinary People." The theme, according to May, summed up the not only the award ceremony, but Marshall and its workforce as well.
"Across the center, the exceptional journey that excites and inspires our world is enabled by the extraordinary people honored here today," he said. "You set an example for everyone around you -- here at Marshall, in the community and around the nation."
NASA Distinguished Service Medals, the highest honor the agency gives to its civil service employees and other federal workers, were presented to retired Marshall Center Director Patrick E. Scheuermann and retired Deputy Director Teresa Vanhooser.  Distinguished Service Medals honor individuals whose personal contributions have profoundly aided NASA's mission and the interests of the United States.
Visit for a complete list of the Marshall award recipients.

Copyright 2016 WAFF. All rights reserved.

Report an Error | Submit a Tip to WAFF 48

Powered by Frankly