2 Huntsville schools on state failing list - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

2 Huntsville schools on state failing list

(Source: Raycom Media) (Source: Raycom Media)

Wednesday afternoon, the State of Alabama Board of Education released the Accountability Act Failing School list of 2016.

Two North Alabama schools, JO Johnson High School and McNair Jr. High School, are on the list.

McNair Jr. High School replaced Davis Hills and Ed White middle Schools. JO Johnson will close after this year and students will attend Jemison High School.

The 2015 list of failing schools included the now closed SR Butler High School, JO Johnson High School, James Dawson Elementary School, Lakewood Elementary School, and Westlawn Middle School.

PDF: 2016 AAA Failing Schools List

This marks the first year in which no Huntsville elementary schools have been on the failing list.

Earlier this week Brookhaven Middle School in Decatur learned they were no longer on the failing schools list.

Five North Alabama high schools were designated as failing in the 2015 list.

Copyright 2016 WAFF. All rights reserved.

Report an Error | Submit a Tip to WAFF 48

Powered by Frankly