Central U.S. States to conduct large scale earthquake exercise - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

Central U.S. States to conduct large scale earthquake exercise

(Source: MGN) (Source: MGN)

The Central United States Earthquake Consortium (CUSEC), along with the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), Federal Emergency Management Agency, US geological Survey and other federal agencies will begin a week-long disaster response and recovery exercise known as CAPSTONE-14 next week.

CAPSTONE-14 is based on the occurrence of a damaging earthquake in New Madrid Seismic Zone (NMSZ) and is the result of three years of multi-state planning and preparedness lead-up activities.

The exercise is to be conducted in Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee on Monday, June 16 through Friday, June 20.

'CAPSTONE-14 demonstrates the dedication of our States to address the shared earthquake risk faced in the central U.S. It's not just a west coast hazard as many might believe, damaging earthquakes have and will occur again in the central U.S. and we need to be ready.' CUSEC Executive Director Jim Wilkinson says.

The main focus areas of CAPSTONE-14 include:

Regional Communications

Regional Situational Awareness

Regional Transportation

Private Sector Integration

Regional Resource Management

Regional Defense Support of Civil Authorities

This effort also supports Presidential Policy Directive 8 (PPD8), and includes preparedness, mitigation, recovery and response planning activities that support the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) directly. 

The effort has improved the adoption of seismic building codes and post-disaster building inspection capabilities.

For more information about CAPSTONE-14, visit www.cusec.org/capstone or call (901) 544-3570.

Copyright 2014 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly