DeKalb Co. approved for federal disaster assistance

DeKalb County damage.
DeKalb County damage.

DEKALB COUNTY, AL (WAFF) - Alabama received approval for federal disaster assistance after the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that moved through Alabama on April 28 and 29.

"The recovery process is just beginning for many Alabama communities, and this federal aid help will ensure Alabamians have resources available to rebuild their lives from the severe weather outbreak," Gov. Robert Bentley said. "I appreciate FEMA's quick response in approving the additional counties for disaster assistance. We will continue to work to ensure Alabamians have every resource available to rebuild from the April storms."

The declaration enables individual citizens in the affected counties of Blount, DeKalb, Etowah, Mobile and Tuscaloosa to apply for individual assistance. That can include money for temporary housing and home repairs, and for other serious disaster-related needs like medical bills or funeral and burial costs.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration may also be available to homeowners, renter and businesses to cover losses that aren't covered by insurance.

Disaster survivors have several ways to apply for federal assistance:

  • Online at 
  • By phone at 1-800-621-3362 or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate  from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
  • Via smartphone or tablet at
Copyright 2014 WAFF. All rights reserved.