Debt Ceiling Vote: How AL representatives voted - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

Debt Ceiling Vote: How AL representatives voted

The U.S. House of Representatives passed a the bill 221 to 201 which will suspend the nation's borrowing limit until March 15, 2015.

The following are statements from Alabama representatives following a vote to pass a House bill to raise the federal debt ceiling:

Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-District 1)

Voted - NO

"Our country continues to accumulate new debt without regard for the consequences. The President has shown no fiscal restraint during his time in office, running up historic deficits year after year. I strongly believe fiscal conservatives must continue fighting to hold the line on this issue for the future of our country.

"I said that I could only support a debt ceiling package that reflects the urgency of our fiscal situation. Unfortunately, this package does not meet that threshold. I hope to work with my colleagues to promote fiscally conservative policies that will balance the federal budget and reduce the debt."

Rep. Martha Roby (R-District 2)

Voted - NO

"I cannot support a plan that allows our nation's debt to increase but fails to include reforms to get spending under control going forward," Rep. Roby said. "The consequences of hitting the debt ceiling and being unable to pay for already-incurred spending are real, but so too are the consequences of allowing our spending problem to go unresolved. 

"Washington's addiction to spending is what built this mountain of debt, and simply piling on more while ignoring the spending problem is exactly the wrong approach."

Rep. Mike Rogers (R-District 3)

Voted - NO

"I could not support raising our nation's debt limit without cutting spending first.  Congress must get its fiscal house in order and make the tough spending decisions before passing legislation to further add to our debt."

Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-District 4)

Voted - Did not vote

Rep. Mo Brooks (R-District 5)

Voted - NO

Rep. Spencer Bachus (R-District 6)

Voted - NO

Rep. Terri Sewell (D-District 7)

Voted - YES

Copyright 2014 WSFA 12 News.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly