Auburn’s Gus Malzahn Winner of The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

Auburn'sGus Malzahn Winner of The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

Austin Seferian-Jenkins of Washington Wins The JohnMackey Award

The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award will bepresented to Auburn's Gus Malzahn as a part of The Home Depot CollegeFootball Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12, at 7 p.m. ET, onESPN.  Malzahn has engineered a turnaround that matches the biggest incollege football history.  In addition, The John Mackey Award will alsorecognize Austin Seferian-Jenkins of Washington as outstanding tight endduring The Cree LED Bulb Red Carpet Special at The Home DepotCollege Football Awards.

In his first season as Auburn head coach, Malzahn ledthe Tigers to a 12-1 season and a berth in the VIZIO BCS National Championshipagainst Florida State on Jan. 6on ESPN.  With a 3-9 record ayear ago without Malzahn, Auburn already has improved its win total by ninegames this season, best among all FBS teams.  A win in the BCS NationalChampionship would make Auburn's improvement the best in FBS history. Malzahn is only the second first-year head coach to lead his team to thenational championship game (Larry Coker in 2001, Miami (Fla.)).

With the 59-42 victory over Missouri, Malzahn is theonly first-year head coach to win an SEC Championship in the 22-year history ofthe title game.  He is the third coach in SEC history, and first in 66years, to win an SEC title in his first year at a school, joining Bernie Mooreat LSU in 1935 and John Vaught at Ole Miss in 1947.

Malzahn served as Auburn's offensive coordinator atAuburn from 2009-11.  The coach, who won the Broyles Award as the nation'stop assistant coach in 2010 while helping the Tigers to the BCS NationalChampionship, returned to Auburn after serving as the head coach at ArkansasState in 2012, where he led the program to the Sun Belt Conference title.

Seferian-Jenkins, a junior from the University ofWashington, has been named the country'soutstanding tight end by the Friends of John Mackey.  Seferian-Jenkinsbecomes the first Mackey Award winner from Washington, and third from thePac-12.  He will be presented with The John Mackey Award during TheCree LED Bulb Red Carpet Special at The Home Depot College Football Awards onThursday, Dec. 12 at 6 p.m. on ESPNU.

In his three years playing at Washington, Seferian-Jenkinshas totaled 143 receptions, 1,801 receiving yards and 20 touchdowns making himthe all-time leader in receptions, receiving yards and touchdowns by aWashington tight end.  He recorded 33 receptions for 413 yards and seventouchdowns in 2013, with 70 percent of his catches going for a first down or atouchdown.  All seven of his receiving touchdowns came in the red zone,tying for second most red zone touchdown catches in the Pac-12.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight endwho best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community valuesof NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey.

The Rimington Trophy (outstanding center) willalso be presented during The Cree LED Bulb Red Carpet Special at TheHome Depot College Football Awards.  Reese Dismukes(Auburn), Hroniss Grasu (Oregon), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Tyler Larsen (UtahState), Bryan Stork (Florida State) and Travis Swanson (Arkansas) were named finalists onMonday.

The23rd annual awards show will feature withthe live presentation of:

§  Nine National College FootballAwards Association (NCFAA) player awards

§  The NCFAA Contributionsto College Football Award to John Gagliardi

§  The Home Depot Coach ofthe Year Award to Gus Malzahn

§  The Disney Spirit Awardto Devon Walker

§  Student-athletes selectedto the Walter Camp All-America Team and The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams®

§  New for 2013, a live Twitter vote willallow fans to determine the college football Play of the Year.  The fourtop plays to pick from at ESPN.cominclude "Auburn's Kick Six,""Nebraska's Hail Mary," "Auburn's Prayer at Hare," and "UCF's One-handedTouchdown"  Viewers can vote during the show by tweeting using#PlayOfTheYear and the play name.

Full details on this year'spresenters, finalists and the entire day of college football awardsprogramming.  

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)

The NCFAA encompasses the mostprestigious awards in college football.  The 21 awards boast 678 years oftradition-selection excellence.  Visit to learn more about ourstory.