USDA issues disaster declaration for North Alabama counties - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

USDA issues disaster declaration for North Alabama counties

Source: MGN Online Source: MGN Online

Several North Alabama counties, including Madison, Limestone, Morgan, Jackson, DeKalb, Marshall, Colbert, Lauderdale and Lawrence counties are among 50 to be named in a disaster declaration  by the United States Department of Agriculture. The declaration was announced Wednesday and cites excessive rain and flooding since the beginning of the year.

The primary counties are: Autauga, Baldwin, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Calhoun, Cleburne, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Geneva, Greene, Hale, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lowndes, Macon ,Madison, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Pike, St. Clair, Shelby, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, Washington, Russell, and Wilcox.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of Alabama are named as contiguous disaster counties. Those counties are: Bibb, Butler, Chambers, Clay, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, DeKalb, Escambia, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Marshall, Randolph, Winston.

This has been one of the rainiest years on record and so many farmers experienced significant losses," said Commissioner of Agriculture & Industries John McMillan. "We are encouraged that the secretary [Thomas Vilsack] honored our request and is now offering necessary assistance."

Assistance is available to farmers in each of the affected counties and will include access to FSA emergency loans. Those farmers affected have eight months to apply for emergency loans.

Copyright 2013 WAFF. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly