USDA declares disaster designation for 50 Alabama counties - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

USDA makes disaster declaration for 50 AL counties

Source: MGN Online Source: MGN Online

The United States Department of Agriculture is issuing a disaster declaration for 50 counties in Alabama due to excessive rain and flooding since the beginning of the year.

The primary counties are: Autauga, Baldwin, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Calhoun, Cleburne, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Geneva, Greene, Hale, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lowndes, Macon ,Madison, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Pike, St. Clair, Shelby, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, Washington, Russell, and Wilcox.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of Alabama are named as contiguous disaster counties. Those counties are: Bibb, Butler, Chambers, Clay, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, DeKalb, Escambia, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Marshall, Randolph, Winston.

This has been one of the rainiest years on record and so many farmers experienced significant losses," said Commissioner of Agriculture & Industries John McMillan. "We are encouraged that the secretary [Thomas Vilsack] honored our request and is now offering necessary assistance."

Assistance is now being made available to farmers in each of the affected counties and will include access to FSA emergency loans. Those farmers affected have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration (September 18, 2013) to apply for emergency loans.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information clink HERE to find a local USDA service center's contact information.

INFORMATION SOURCE: USDA/Alabama Dept. of Agriculture

Copyright 2013 WSFA 12 News.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly