Four Auburn Anniversary Teams To Be Honored During 2013 Season

Four Anniversary Teams Honored During 2013 Season

AUBURN, Ala. – Four outstanding Auburn football teams will be honored during the 2013 season with anniversary recognitions at Jordan-Hare Stadium.

The 1993 Auburn team will be honored at the season opener versus Washington State August 31. Twenty years ago, the '93 Tigers, coached by Terry Bowden, posted an undefeated 11-0 record and finished with a No. 4 national ranking. The Washington State contest has a 6 p.m. CT kickoff and will be televised by ESPNU.

The 1988 Tigers, co-champions of the SEC, will be honored at the September 7 home game against Arkansas State. Coached by Pat Dye, Auburn posted a 10-2 record that season and faced Florida State in the Sugar Bowl. Auburn finished ranked No. 7 in the nation. The Arkansas State game will kickoff at 6:30 p.m. CT and be televised by FSN.

The 1963 Auburn squad will celebrate its 50th anniversary at the Homecoming game versus Western Carolina October 12. Posting a 9-2 record under Coach Ralph "Shug" Jordan, the '63 Tigers, who finished No. 5 in the national rankings, faced Nebraska in the Orange Bowl.

The 1983 Tigers, who won Auburn's first SEC championship since 1957, will celebrate their 30th anniversary at the Florida Atlantic game October 26. Posting an 11-1 record and going 6-0 in SEC play, the '83 Auburn squad defeated Michigan 9-7 in the Sugar Bowl to finish No. 3 in most of the national polls.

Members of each team being honored will be recognized on the field; they will also visit with fans at the Verizon Wireless Autograph Tent located at Plainsman Park two hours prior to kickoff.

Ticket Information

Season and select single-game tickets for the 2013 Auburn football season are now available to the general public through the Auburn Athletics Department Ticket Office. All tickets can be purchased online at For more information or questions regarding tickets, contact the ticket office by email at or by phone at 1-855-AUB-2010, ext. 1.