Bulldogs Picked to Finish 3rd in SWAC East

BIRMINGHAM -- Montaurius Smith, Corey Johnson, Reginald Bailey, Justin Goodrich and Derrick Harris were each named to the Preseason All-SWAC second-team announced today at the Southwestern Athletic Conference football media days.

Bailey, Johnson, Smith and Harris each received their first preseason nod while Goodrich earns his second straight as he was named to the 2012 squad.

Also for the second straight year the Bulldogs were picked to fininsh third in the Eastern Division. At the beginning of 2012 A&M was in a similar situation after coming off their fifth championship game in the last ten years. They finished the season third with a 6-3 record.
Defending champion, UAPB, led the way with 11 selections including nine voted to the first team. Alabama State, Jackson State, and Prairie View A&M had seven picks apiece. ASU and PVAMU tallied three players on the first team with JSU posting two.

Alabama A&M and Southern each recorded five picks with SU finishing the tally with three players making the first team. Rounding out the selections include: Mississippi Valley with four players, registering two on the top team. Alcorn State, Grambling State and Texas southern posted one player apiece on the second team.

For the predicted order of finish in both divisions, Arkansas-Pine Bluff totaled 105 points, including 14 first-place votes, to become the favorite out of the West Division. Southern followed with 88 points, Prairie View A&M gathered 83 points, with Grambling State (51) and Texas Southern (38) closing the division's preseason ranking.

In the East Division, Alabama State claimed 108 points with 15 first-place votes. Jackson State received 102 points followed by Alabama A&M (60), Mississippi Valley State (51) and Alcorn State (40).

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Ben Anderson (QB) - Arkansas - Pine Bluff

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Qua Cox (DB) - Jackson State

2013 Preseason All-SWAC Football Preseason - First Team

QBBen AndersonArkansas - Pine Bluff
RBIsaiah CrowellAlabama State
RBJustin BillingsArkansas - Pine Bluff
WRLee DossSouthern
WRLaDarius EckwoodArkansas - Pine Bluff
TEDezmond BeverlyArkansas - Pine Bluff
OLKenny EagleArkansas - Pine Bluff
OLTre GloverPrairie View A&M
OLDamien LoveAlabama State
OLDillon BonnetPrairie View A&M
OLEdmund DavisAlabama State
PKBobby WenzigAlabama State
PBobby WenzigAlabama State
RSVirgil WilliamsSouthern


DLRobert SimpsonMississippi Valley State
DLDamien LeeArkansas - Pine Bluff
DLTedderick TerrellJackson State
DLDeMarcus BerryArkansas - Pine Bluff
LBJer-Ryan HarrisArkansas - Pine Bluff
LBJerome HarrisPrairie View A&M
LBAnthony BalancierSouthern
DBQua CoxJackson State
DBRyan ShawArkansas - Pine Bluff
DBKevin EugeneMississippi Valley State
DBVirgil WilliamsSouthern

2013 Preseason All-SWAC Football Preseason - Second Team


QBDray JosephSouthern
RBTommy GoodenJackson State
RBRakeem SimsJackson State
WRJulian StaffordMississippi Valley State
WRMontaurius SmithAlabama A&M
TEJustin RobinsonAlabama State
TEOlatunde' IdowuPrairie View A&M
OLKeathric BrownArkansas - Pine Bluff
OLJordan ArthurJackson State
OLClint MarshGrambling State
OLJustin GoodrichAlabama A&M
OLAntonio GriggsMississippi Valley State
PKChris BarrickPrairie View A&M
PTravis JatzlauPrairie View A&M
RSJohnta' HebertPrairie View A&M


DLCarlton JonesAlabama State
DLReginald BaileyAlabama A&M
DLArthur MileySouthern
DLCorey JohnsonAlabama A&M
LBXavier LoftonArkansas - Pine Bluff
LBTodd WilcherJackson State
LBDeMarques TaylorAlabama State
DBCameron LoefflerJackson State
DBJamison KnoxAlcorn State
DBLe'Tevin WilcoxTexas Southern
DBDerrick HarrisAlabama A&M

2013 Predicted Order of Finish: (First-Place Votes)


1.Arkansas - Pine Bluff105 (14)
2.Southern88 (6)
3.Prairie View A&M82 (3)
4.Grambling State51 (1)
5.Texas Southern38


1.Alabama State108 (15)
2.Jackson State102 (9)
3.Alabama A&M60
4.Mississippi Valley State51
5.Alcorn State40

The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC), established in 1920, is a college athletic conference headquartered in Birmingham, Ala., which is comprised of historically black universities in the Southern United States. It participates in the NCAA's Division I for all sports and the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).