10 North AL schools on state failing schools list

MONTGOMERY, AL (WAFF) - Ten schools in North Alabama made the state's failing schools list under a new Alabama law that lets parents receive tax credits for sending their children to a better school.

Only one school in Decatur, Brookhaven Middle School, is on the list. The rest of the failing schools in North Alabama are in the Huntsville City School district.

Those schools are:

  • Butler High School
  • Chapman Middle School
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School
  • Davis Hills Middle School
  • Edward White Middle School
  • Johnson High School
  • Lakewood Elementary School
  • James Dawson Elementary School
  • Westlawn Middle School

The schools are being labeled as failing under the Alabama Accountability Act, passed by the state's Republican-controlled Legislature earlier this year.

Parents are eligible for tax credits if they transfer students out of schools that are considered as failing under the legislation.

The tax credits are worth about $3,500 annually. Parents can receive the credits if they send children to private academies or public schools that aren't considered to be failing.

The state board will contact parents with children in failing schools to tell them how to proceed.

Copyright 2013 WAFF. All rights reserved.