Panthers to receive title rings and honor local champs - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

Panthers to receive title rings and honor local champs


The Albany Panthers something to smile about these days and while a win over Louisiana might do it, so might getting their championship rings from last year's PIFL Championship victory added with another special honor.

The Panthers will not only receive their championship rings in a special pre-game ceremony at the Civic Center but they'll also honor other local champions and championship teams in a special halftime ceremony.

The ceremony will include local elementary and high school state champions along with several collegiate national champions as well.

General Manager Will Carter has dubbed the evening as the Night of Champions as the team returns home for its first home game since March 23rd, the last time Albany won a game was in front of its fans.

"They rally behind the team and they will us to some victories. What a lot of people don't know is that we've won 13 consecutive home games and a lifetime record of 22-2 at home over the past four year. So with us struggling the past few weeks, this is going to be great in front of our fans and have 5,000 plus fans pushing us to victory over the Swashbucklers on Saturday night," said General Manager Will Carter.

Here is a list of the local champions that will be honored:

Crisp Academy Wildcats Girls - 2012 GISA 3-A State Basketball Champions along with Head Coach Gina Mitchell;

Westwood School Wildcats Girls - 2012 GISA 3-AA State Basketball Champions along with Head Coach Jenni Smith;

Deerfield Academy Knights - 2012 GISA 3-AAA State Football Champions along with Head Coach Allen Lowe;

Emily Johnson Ingram of Anytime Fitness - winner of the INBF Iron Eagle in her class and earned her pro card;

Lamar Reese Magnet School of the Fine Arts - DCSS 2012 Elementary School Basketball Champions along with Head Coach Reginald Sweets;

Darton College's Jamel Sharp - NJCAA National Champion Wrestling; Darton College's Crawford Berry - NJCAA National Champion Swimming;

Command Sgt. Major James Nelson Jr. and Darton College's Head Swimming Coach - Drew Aultman NJCAA National Coach of the Year.

Copyright 2013 WALB.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly