UAH'S Brock Named GSC Player of the Year

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Chandler Brock was named GSC Player of the Year and the University of Alabama in Huntsville baseball team put seven players on the 2013 All-Conference Baseball Team, announced by the league office Tuesday morning.

The many accolades are attributed to one of the strongest seasons UAH has had offensively as well as finishing in

second place in the conference with a 16-6-1 record. The seven selections for the Chargers were the second most behind league-champion Delta State and were also tied with Valdosta State.

Brock finished the season with a .432 batting average, which was both tops in the league and on the team. He raked for 42 RBIs, 10 doubles and four home runs. The sophomore also sits in 10th place overall in Division II with his batting average.

With the most hits, highest on base percentage and highest slugging percentage in the conference, Brock becomes just the second UAH baseball player to win the award, joining the likes of Wes Long who won in 2003.

Joining Brock on the 2013 All-GSC Baseball First Team were Vincent Kortbawi (IF), Blake Massey (SS), Andrew Busby (SP) and Luke Mould (RP). The total of five members on First Team was second-highest as well to Delta State.

Kortbawi finished the season with a .355 batting average as the clean-up hitter for the powerful UAH lineup. He scored 37 runs and also hit four home runs. The senior reached both a GSC and UAH milestone this year when he extended his hitting streak to 38 games.

The junior Massey was named First Team shortstop, after finishing second on the team in RBIs with 41. Making a mainstay as the best hitting shortstop in the league, Massey was the only UAH player to play and start in all 47 of his team's games.

UAH's pitching ace Busby was one of five starting pitchers to be named to the First Team. Busby solidified his role as the ace of one of the best pitching staffs in the league, posting a 2.03 ERA and 74 strikeouts. Both of those totals were tops in the conference. He finished the season with a 6-3 record and will in all likelihood see the start in Thursday's GSC Tournament opener.

Mould was one of three relief pitchers to be named First Team, after he led the team with a 1.38 ERA this season and was a perfect 4-0. Mould appeared in 15 games this year, more than any other UAH pitcher, and held opponents to just a .180 batting average.

Landing on the All-GSC Second Team were both Jud Sherrill (1B) and Chase Handley (UAH). Both had outstanding junior campaigns and will be relied on heavy this postseason and next season.

Sherrill finished third on the team with a .343 batting average and knocked in 28 RBIs. The big-hitting first basemen saw time at designated hitter as well, hitting five doubles and three home runs.

The native of Gardendale, Ala., Handley hit .329 playing his games at both second base and third base. He recorded 29 RBIs and had an on base percentage of .444.

Garnering the seven All-GSC selections and the GSC Player of the Year should come as no surprise, as the nationally-ranked Chargers led the conference in multiple offensive categories including runs scored and batting average.

The team will enter this week's GSC Tournament as the No. 2 overall seed, playing West Georgia at 1 p.m. eastern time in Chattanooga, Tenn., at AT&T Field.

?GSC Player of the Year—Chandler Brock, Alabama Huntsville
GSC Pitcher of the Year—Jake Stephens, West Florida     
GSC Freshman of the Year—Mitch Holgate, West Alabama     
GSC Coach of the Year—Mike Kinnison, Delta State     

C     *Bryan Hayman     VSU       
C     Carlos Leal     DSU    
1B     Josh Cyr     UNA       
2B     Kaleb Barlow     UWF       
3B     Tyler Aldridge     DSU     
3B     *Vincent Kortbawi     UAH      
SS     Blake Massey     UAH  
DH     Ben Kingsley     DSU    
OF     Chandler Brock     UAH    
OF     Jake Ward     UNA        
OF     Michael Vinson     DSU   
OF     Jordan Chovanec     DSU    
OF     Matthew Fears     VSU    
OF     Jarrett Jenkins     CBU    
OF     Drew Prichard     UWF    
SP     Josh Branstetter     DSU   
SP     Jamie Sexton     UWG        
SP     Andrew Busby     UAH    
SP     Jeremy Holcomb     VSU    
SP     Michael Manley     DSU  
RP     Luke Mould     UAH    
RP     Taylor Stark     DSU   
RP     Benjamin Weil     VSU   

1B     Jud Sherrill     UAH  
1B     D.J. Turo     UWA    
2B     Josh Carpenter     UNA     
2B     Chase Handley     UAH       
2B     Kasey Hinton     DSU    
SS     Josh Crowdus     DSU   
SS     Nick Rodda     VSU    
DH     Dylan Boston     UNA       
OF     Josh Doyle     UNA     
OF     Jake Fields     VSU         
OF     Dustin Saulmon     UWF     
SP     Drew Bryson     UWF        
SP     Cade Medley     UNA      
SP     Colton Mitchell     DSU    
SP     Pete Whittingslow     VSU    
SP     Jake Stephens     UWF         
RP     Max Aeschlimann     UWG     
RP     Kevin Peters     UWF