Hammond, Smith named players of the year in GSC

The Gulf South Conference announced the 2013 All-Gulf South Conference Women's Basketball on Wednesday, and the University of Alabama in Huntsville's Jasmine Hammon earned First Team honors while also being named the GSC Women's Basketball Player of the Year.

The Muscle Shoals, Ala., native becomes just the second UAH women's basketball player to earn the award as Kim Young captured it in 2002.

In addition to being named the league's best player, Hammon earned a spot on the All-GSC First Team for the third consecutive year to become only the 15th player in league history – and the first in the Lady Charger record books – to earn First-Team honors in three different seasons.

Recently becoming the program's all-time leader in scoring as she now owns 1,510 points, Hammon led the GSC in scoring during the regular season as she finished the campaign averaging more than 18 points per contest. The junior also ranked sixth in the conference in steals and 3-point field goal percentage.

Hammon has scored in double figures in each of the team's 28 games including recording games of 20 points or more on nine occasions.

Setting a season-high on the glass, Hammon notched a double-double with 19 points and 11 rebounds in a game against West Georgia on Jan. 31, and she currently sits fifth all-time in UAH history with 549 career rebounds – just 55 off of the program record of 604.

Smith's selection marks the third consecutive year that a Charger has been named the league's top player, while Campbell becomes the only UAH player in program history to land on the all-conference teams during each of his four seasons.

Smith's senior season has been stellar as he finished the regular season as the league's second-best scorer while pacing the conference in assists and free throw percentage. The Birmingham native was especially impressive in the team's final four games of the regular season, averaging 27.5 points per game to help the Chargers clinch the No. 1 seed in this week's GSC Men's Basketball Championships.