Alexander, Collins named to SEC All-Freshman Team - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

Alexander, Collins named to SEC All-Freshman Team

Posted: Updated:

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Twelve Southeastern Conference football squads are represented on the 13th annual SEC Coaches' All-Freshman Team, it was announced on Thursday.

SEC Champion Alabama, Florida and Texas A&M led the way with four selections each, while Arkansas and South Carolina placed three on the team. Georgia, LSU and Ole Miss each had two.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was also chosen SEC Offensive Player of the Year earlier this week, as well as SEC Freshman of the Year and first team All-SEC. Georgia running back Todd Gurley was named to the second team.


The entire team is listed below:


(*-Ties) (Coaches could not vote for their own players)




TE - Jerell Adams, South Carolina


OL - John Theus, Georgia

D.J. Humphries, Florida

Brandon Shell, South Carolina

Vadal Alexander, LSU


C - Ryan Kelly, Alabama


WR - Amari Cooper, Alabama

Mike Evans, Texas A&M


QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M


RB – Todd Gurley, Georgia

T.J. Yeldon, Alabama


AP - Trey Williams, Texas A&M



DL - Dante Fowler, Florida

Jonathan Bullard, Florida

Issac Gross, Ole Miss

D.J. Pettway, Alabama


LB - Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

*A.J. Turner, Arkansas

*Otha Peters, Arkansas

*Antonio Morrison, Florida


DB - Jalen Collins, LSU

T.J. Gurley, South Carolina

Rohan Gaines, Arkansas

LaDarrell McNeil, Tennessee



PK - Andrew Baggett, Missouri

P - Landon Foster, Kentucky

RS – Trey Williams, Texas A&M

Powered by WorldNow

1414 North Memorial Parkway
Huntsville, AL 35801

WAFF Is a Proud Member
of the Raycom Family of Stations

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and WAFF. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.