Huntsville Speedway to race July 3rd

HUNTSVILLE, AL—The Southern Superstars Short Track Series will return to action Tuesday night July 3rd for the Independence 100 at the Huntsville Speedway in Huntsville, AL.  Kit will be a full 100 lap Super Late Model program along with racing in Modifieds, Supertrucks, Sports, Mini Stock, Hot Shots, Buzz and Mod Lites along with fireworks after the races.

The Southern Superstars Short Track Series is enjoying one of it's best years in it's short three year existence as there has been five races run this season and five different winners, Michael House of Columbia, TN., took the opening night win at Sayre, then Chris Whorton of Boaz, AL., took the win at Huntsville in one of the best late model show in years at the speedway, then Mark Day of Clarksville TN.  and two time defending series champion got is first win the year at Huntsville after some late race contact with Brad Lemley, then the series head back to Sayre Speedway where 2011 AR Bodies Rookie of the Year Chase Spradlin of Oak Grove, AL., got his first career win and then the last race held at Huntsville Brad Lemley got redemption as he led all 100 laps in route to his first victory of the season with the series.  All these drivers should be in attendance for the this special Tuesday night event as it will mark the first time in the 54 year history of Huntsville Speedway that race will be ran on Tuesday night.

Other drives that are expected include Chase Oliver of Crossville, AL., Lee Hansard of Tyrone, GA., Dave Coble of Madison, TN., who is in a tight points battle for the AR Bodies Rookie of the Year title with Kentucky driver Jerad Smith of Lexington, KY., Gary Nix of Warrior, AL., Bobby Castleberry of Ringgold, GA., Keith Rankin of Chattanooga, TN., Brian Bentley of Thatch, AL., Chuck Tuck of Athens, AL., Kenny Andrews of Crossville, TN., John Thomas of Harvest, AL., Phillip Norton of Guntersville, AL., Marc Burleson of New Hope, AL., Phil Renfroe of Maysville, AL.,  T W Fisher of Whitehouse, TN.,  plus many more from across the southeast.

Pit gates will open at 12 noon with practice at 1:30 pm qualifying will be at 6:30 pm and race time set for 7:30 pm.

For more information visit or or 256-882-9191.

SOUTHERN SUPERSTARS TOP TEN: 1.Hunter Spivey 448; 2.Mark Day 442; 3.Chase Oliver 432; 4.Lee Hansard 424; 5.Davey Coble 392; 6.Gary Nix 280; 7.Jerad Smith 364; 8.Bobby Castleberry 356; 9.Chris Whorton 288; 10.Brad Lemley 276

The remaining Southern Superstar Short Track Series race dates are:

July 3—Huntsville Speedway—Huntsville, AL—100 Lap                                                                                                                                                   
July 28—Sayre Speedway—Sayre, AL—100 Lap
August 4—Huntsville Speedway—Huntsville, AL—Twin 75 Lap
September 2—24th Annual World Classic—Huntsville Speedway-150 Laps