UAH Track Garners 33 All-Region Accolades

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The University of Alabama in Huntsville track and field program picked up 33 All-South Region nods for the 2012 NCAA Division II outdoor track and field season, as announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association on Tuesday.

The top five from each region in individual events and each member of a relay ranked in the region's top three earned the All-Region distinction for the 2012 indoor season.

A total of 1,274 athletes received 1,854 USTFCCCA All-Region nods. The USTFCCCA regions match those used for NCAA Cross Country Championships.

On the men's side, UAH was led by three Chargers as Alex Buchanan, Josh Moshier and Jose Ortega all notched recognition in two events. MSU Moorhead's Derek Bredy led the nation's men with seven All-Region performances. For the indoor season, Bredy led the nation with six All-Region nods.

Ashland's Cheryl Bourne, Johnson C. Smith's Samantha Elliott, San Francisco State's Keenya McDaniel, Central Missouri's Lindsay Lettow, and New Mexico Highland's Jillisa Grant led all women with five All-Region recognitions apiece. The Lady Chargers had three women with three honors each in Katelin Barber, Gwen Gammon and Kedeshia Simpson.

In the team count, Southern Connecticut led all men's squads with 38 nods, followed by Saint Augustine's (26) and Grand Valley State (25). Grand Valley State picked up the most honors on the women's side with 32, followed by Lincoln (Mo.) (26) and Southern Connecticut (24). UAH's men garnered 13 honors while the women nabbed 20 accolades.

The following men picked up the All-Region honor: Alex Buchanan (long jump, triple jump), Dezmen Cage (4x400m), Dante Dorsey (3,000m steeplechase), Adrian Goddard (4x400m), Stephon Hampton (4x400m), Wil Lester (discus), Josh Moshier (1,500m, 5,000m), Jose Ortega (1,500m, 5,000m), Jaion Rayford (4x400m) and Richard Wilson (100m).

The following women picked up the All-Region honor: Nadia Araiinejad (high jump, javelin), Katelin Barber (100m ,200m, 4x100m), Elisa Baskin (shot put), Gwen Gammon (800m, 1,500m, 5,000m), Michelle Kruse (5,000m, 3,000m steeplechase), Alisia Mathews (javelin), Julia Nagle (pole vault), Kedeshia Simpson (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Leah Sparks (800m, 1,500m), Mariah Tolbert (4x100m) and Eden Williams (4x100m).