MEMPHIS—University of North Alabama senior Chloe Roberts has been named Daktronics South Region Player of the Year  for 2011 and headlines a group of four Lions selected to the All-South Region team. .

Roberts, also the Gulf South Conference Player of the Year, scored 16 goals with 15 assists as she led the Lions to a 17-4 record.  She was joined on the All-Region first-team by teammates Jennifer Osmond of Southampton, England and Nikki Brown of Bognor Regis, England. UNA defender Stephanie Bradshaw was a second-team All-South Region pick. Roberts and Brown are first-team all-region picks for the third straight year. Brown scored nine goals and added 12 assists, while Osmond tied with Roberts for the conference lead in goals with 16, and added seven assists.

Bradshaw, a senior from Sleaford, England, helped lead a UNA defense that allowed just 17 goals in 21 matches during the 2011 season. She was a four-year starter for the Lions on defense with 74 career starts.

Roberts is already UNA's career goal scoring leader with 76, and she ranks second in Gulf South Conference history. Brown is UNA's career assist leader with 44.

Melissa Ortiz of Lynn and Emma Karp of Barry complete the forwards, while Brown was joined at midfielder by Cassie Barbaresi of Saint Leo, Melissa Madrid of Barry, and Gabby Russo of Tampa.

Rollins placed two defenders on the First Team, Anita Cox and Charlotte Murrell.  They are joined by Aija Bent-Trinder of Saint Leo and Shannon Walisch of Tampa, while Rollins goalkeeper Michelle Dillingham earned the goalkeeper's spot.

Saint Leo and West Florida placed three players on the Second Team.  Florida Tech and Rollins added two players each to the Second Team, while Lynn, North Alabama, Nova Southeastern, and Tampa earned one spot each.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.

Daktronics All-South Region First Team:

GK - Michelle Dillingham, Rollins

D - Aija Bent-Trinder, Saint Leo

D - Anita Cox, Rollins

D - Charlotte Murrell, Rollins

D - Shannon Walisch, Tampa

M - Cassie Barbaresi, Saint Leo

M - Nikki Brown, North Alabama

M - Melissa Madrid, Barry

M - Gabby Russo, Tampa

F - Emma Karp, Barry

F - Melissa Ortiz, Lynn

F - Jennifer Osmond, North Alabama

F - Chloe Roberts, North Alabama

South Region Player of the Year: Chloe Roberts, North Alabama

Daktronics All-South Region Second Team:

GK - Laura Carstens, Saint Leo

D - Stephanie Bradshaw, North Alabama

D - Danielle Cruz Mejia, West Florida

D - Ann-Marie Helgestad, Florida Tech

D - Lauren Impey, Lynn

M - Malin Broberg, Nova Southeastern

M - Paula Lillsjo, Florida Tech

M - Monica Malavassi, West Florida

M - Ashley Waplinger, Rollins

F - Dari Alcantara, Saint Leo

F - Tina Murray, West Florida

F - Ali Schrader, Rollins

F - Pia Soesemann, Saint Leo

F - Brittan Spence, Tampa