Eight Tigers Named Pre-Season All-SEC At SEC Media Days

HOOVER, Ala. - Eight Auburn football players have been named to the 2011 All-Southeastern Conference Media Days Football Team, the league office announced Friday. The 167 members of the media that voted for the team selected senior Brandon Mosley (OL) to the first team along with junior Philip Lutzenkirchen (TE), sophomore Michael Dyer (RB), sophomore Nosa Eguae (DL), senior Neiko Thorpe (DB) and junior Onterrio McCalebb (RS) to the second team. Junior Emory Blake (WR) and junior T'Sharvan Bell (DB) were named to the third team.

Mosley played in all 14 games last season for Auburn, starting in 11. He was part of an offense that became the first in school history to rush for 300 or more yards in six straight SEC games during the 2010 season. He was also part of an offensive line that allowed just 23 sacks in 296 pass attempts.

Dyer, the Offensive MVP at the BCS National Championship Game, racked up 1,093 yards rushing during his freshman campaign. He set a new Auburn freshman rushing record, surpassing Bo Jackson's 829 yards. He started 14 games, earning eight starts, and was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team and the Collegefootballnews.com Freshman All-America Second Team. He averaged 6.0 yards per carry and scored five touchdowns on the season.

Eguae played in all 14 games last season for the Tigers, starting in 11. He totaled 22 tackles (14 solo, 8 assists) with 7.5 for loss, including 3.5 sacks. He had a season-best five tackles in the regular-season meeting with South Carolina. Came back for a season-best 2.5 tackles for loss against the Gamecocks in the SEC Championship Game.

Lutzenkirchen appeared in 13 games last season, starting in five. He totaled 15 receptions for 185 yards and five touchdowns, including a touchdown in the Iron Bowl that helped cap off Auburn's historic comeback in the 28-27 win. He holds the Auburn single-season record for touchdowns by a tight end with five in 2010 and ranks in a tie for second in touchdowns by a tight end in Auburn history with seven.

McCalebb played in all 14 games, starting four, and finished the season third on the team in rushing yards (810) and second in rushing touchdowns (9). He also set the Auburn single-season record for yards per carry with a 7.5 average. McCalebb finished second on team with 1,123 all-purpose yards and third in total offense with 896 yards while also hauling in seven catches for 86 yards with one touchdown.

Thorpe, a 2010 All-SEC Second Team selection, played in all 14 games last season while starting in 13. He was third on the team with 64 tackles (45 solo, 19 assists) while tallying a team-best nine pass break-ups. Thorpe also totaled a season-high 12 tackles at Alabama, including his lone tackle for loss of the season.

Bell appeared in 11 games last season for the Tigers. He had three starts on the season and totaled 38 tackles with 3.5 coming in for a loss. He also had an interception and was tied for third on the team with four pass break-ups. He notched his first career sack in the fourth quarter of Auburn's historic comeback in the Iron Bowl.

Blake played in all 14 games last season, starting in six. He hauled in 33 catches for 554 yards while tallying a team-best eight touchdown receptions. Blake set the Auburn record for longest play from scrimmage along with QB Cam Newton on a 94-yard catch and run for a touchdown vs. Louisiana-Monroe last season.

In addition to the preseason All-SEC team, the media also voted for a preseason poll, in which the Tigers were picked to finish in fifth place in the Western Division. Auburn finished with 406 points in the vote, just behind fourth-place Mississippi State (455). Alabama was picked to win the division and the SEC overall championship. LSU was picked second in the West, followed by Arkansas. Ole Miss was voted sixth.

Auburn will open the 2011 season Sept. 3 vs. Utah State at Jordan-Hare Stadium. The game will be televised on either ESPN or ESPN2 with kickoff set for 11 a.m. CT.

Full season tickets for the 2011 season are sold out. A limited number of lower level mini season tickets and individual game tickets are available. For information or to purchase visit www.AubTix.com or call 855-282-2010.