Tornadoes kill 133 people in north Alabama

The devastation in north Alabama has been unimaginable. In Madison County alone, 239 homes were destroyed by Wednesday's deadly tornadoes.

In the entire state, 249 people have been confirmed dead. The following counties are reporting deaths:

  • Marshall 5
  • Dekalb 33
  • Cullman 2
  • Jefferson 20
  • Bibb 1
  • Calhoun 9
  • Elmore 6
  • Fayette 4
  • Franklin 27
  • Hale 4
  • Jackson 8
  • Lawrence 14
  • Limestone 4
  • Madison 7
  • Marion 35
  • St. Clair 14
  • Tallapoosa 3
  • Tuscaloosa 39
  • Walker 14

Two Alabama counties have been added to those declared eligible for disaster assistance by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The Alabama counties added Friday to the federal disaster declaration were Sumter and Marengo.

Counties previously designated disaster areas after Wednesday's severe storms were Cullman, DeKalb, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marshall, Tuscaloosa and Walker.

The disaster declaration makes homeowners and renters eligible for assistance, including grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans are available from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover residential and business losses not fully covered by insurance.

For information about assistance available, residents of the designated counties may call 1-800-621-3362. Related Stories:

Copyright 2011 WAFF. All rights reserved. AP contributed to this report.