Eleven more Alabama counties designated for disaster assistance

MONTGOMERY, AL (WAFF) - Governor Bentley has been informed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency that 11 additional counties have been designated for disaster assistance to households and businesses as part of Alabama's federal disaster declaration. The counties are Bibb, Blount, Cherokee, Choctaw, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Limestone, Madison, and Washington.  This brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 28.

"I want to thank President Obama for his support in getting FEMA to add eleven new counties to Alabama's federal disaster declaration," said Governor Robert Bentley. "This declaration allows citizens in these 11 new counties to have the maximum financial assistance as they begin the process of recovering their lives. We are working hard to convince President Obama to include all counties that have suffered so greatly as a result of April's catastrophic events."

Counties previously designated are Autauga, Calhoun, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Sumter, St. Clair, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa and Walker.

"The fact that Alabamians whose lives have been so disrupted will be eligible for Individual Assistance is crucial to the recovery of the whole state," said AEMA Director Art Faulkner.  "We will continue to work until all affected residents have been assisted."

Affected survivors and business owners in all designated counties should apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 800-462-7585. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to www.disasterassistance.gov.

Copyright 2011 WAFF. All rights reserved.