Tornado Watch issued for north Alabama

HUNTSVILLE, AL (WAFF) - The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch in effect until 1:00 p.m.

This watch includes 11 counties in North Central Alabama. These counties are Cullman, Limestone, Madison, Morgan, DeKalb, Jackson, Marshall, Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence.

It also includes Franklin, Lincoln and Moore Counties in Southern Middle Tennessee.

The primary risk will be for damaging wind, but a few tornadoes are possible as well. Storms are expected in northwest Alabama between 8:00 and 11:00 this morning. They will move into the Huntsville/Athens/Decatur area between 10:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. and in the northeast corner of the state between Noon and 3:00 p.m.

WAFF 48 Storm Team is streaming live on Trust us to bring you the latest conditions in your area.

Copyright 2011 WAFF. All rights reserved.