Darvin Adams and Josh Bynes named to football trophy watch lists

AUBURN, Ala. – Junior wide receiver Darvin Adams and senior linebacker Josh Bynes were named Tuesday to watch lists for a pair of national football awards. Adams was named to the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award, while Bynes was named to the Bednarik Award watch list.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation to the top receiver in college football, while the Bednarik Award is awarded by the Maxwell Football Club to the nation's top defensive player.

Adams set an Auburn single-season record with 60 receptions last year, and his 997 receiving yards and 10 touchdowns ranked third best in school history. He ranked second in the SEC in total receiving yards and TD catches, and his 60 catches were third most.

Adams set an Auburn bowl game record with 12 catches in the Outback Bowl victory over Northwestern, and finished the season with back-to-back 100-yard receiving games, collecting 138 yards vs. Alabama and 142 vs. the Wildcats.

Bynes led Auburn in tackles and ranked sixth in the SEC last year, totaling 104 stops on the season (61 solo, 43 assists). He had six tackles for loss and recovered two fumbles while also breaking up seven passes and intercepting another.

Bynes enters his senior season with 167 career tackles and with a streak of 21 consecutive starts. He has four career double-digit tackle games, including back-to-back games with 10 tackles each against Alabama and Northwestern to close the 2009 season.

The selection committee for the Biletnikoff Award will trim the initial list to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 15 and from there, three finalists will be announced on Nov. 22. Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced on Nov. 8 and three finalists for the award will be announced Nov. 22. The winners of both awards will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 9.