SEC Sends Three to Women's College World Series - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

SEC Sends Three to Women's College World Series

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference will send three of the eight final teams to the Women's College World Series and vie for the league's first national title.  The series will begin on Thursday, June 3 and run through June 8, with an "if necessary" game on June 9. 

                The 2009 runner-up, the Florida Gators (48-8), are leading the charge for the SEC.  The Gators are the No. 4 seed and will face No. 5 seed UCLA (45-11) at 2:30 p.m. CT.  After sweeping Arizona State in the Gainesville Super Regional, this marks the Gators third consecutive trip to the WCWS. 

                The No. 6 seed Georgia Bulldogs (48-11) return to the WCWS after making their first appearance last year.  The Bulldogs defeated No. 11 California 2-0 in the Athens, Super Regional to advance.  The Bulldogs made it to the final four last season. Georgia will face the defending national champion Washington Huskies (50-7) at 8:30 p.m. CT.

                The No. 15 seed Tennessee Lady Vols (47-13) are making their first appearance since 2007, their fourth overall.  Tennessee will play No. 10 Arizona (48-11) at 6:00 p.m. CT.  Tennessee advanced to the WCWS by upsetting No. 2 seed Michigan and swept the series in the Ann Arbor Super Regional. 

                In the fourth match-up at the WCWS, No. 9 Missouri (Big 12) and No. 16 Hawaii (WAC), will start the action at Noon CT.        

                Since 1997, the SEC has had six teams advance to the Women's College World Series: Alabama (‘00, ‘03, ‘05, ‘06, ‘08, ‘09), Florida (‘08, ‘09, ‘10), Georgia (‘09, ‘10), LSU (‘01, ‘04), South Carolina (‘07) and Tennessee (‘05, ‘06, ‘07, ‘10).  In 2009, Alabama, Florida and Georgia all advanced to the final four.  Florida finished as the runner-up.

                Follow for all of the updates on the SEC in WCWS action. 

Powered by Frankly