Gamecock Softball To Host TSU In Regular Season Finale - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

Gamecock Softball To Host TSU In Regular Season Finale

JACKSONVILLE – The Jacksonville Softball team will be in action at University Field for the final time in 2010 this weekend, when the Gamecocks host Tennessee State in a three-game Ohio Valley Conference series. Admission is free for all fans.

The series will begin on Saturday with a 1 p.m. doubleheader before wrapping up with a 1 p.m. single game on Sunday. Sunday's game will be broadcast live on the JSU Radio Network.

The Gamecocks wrap up the 2010 regular season with a three-game series against Tennessee State at University Field, and they do so with a favorable forecast for the first time in a while. After having the last two weekends rained out, JSU enters its season finale facing minimal rain chances on Saturday and Sunday. When the first pitch is thrown in the series, it will snap a string of 19 days in which the Gamecocks have managed to play just two games.

JSU sits in third place in the league standings but still has a shot to climb into the second-place spot for the conference tournament. The Gamecocks must sweep the Tigers and hope second-place Morehead State is swept by regular-season champion UT Martin over the weekend.

This weekend's series will extend a series that has seen 33 previous meetings between the Gamecocks and the Tigers, with JSU claiming wins in 29 of those meetings. Jax State is 11-1 against TSU at University Field, including series sweeps in 2006 and 2008, the last two times the Tigers have come to town.

University Field will say farewell to four seniors this weekend, when outfielders Chrissy O'Neal, Mary Beth Ledbetter and Hillary Downs and first baseman Nikki Prier play their final home games at the park. One of the most decorated senior classes in school history, they have led the JSU program on its recent rise in the national scene. They have won two Ohio Valley Conference Regular Season titles and one OVC Tournament title, while advancing to the last two NCAA Tournaments. The four will be honored in a pregame ceremony on Sunday.

Powered by Frankly