NCAA Women’s Swimming And Diving Championships: Day One Prelim - WAFF-TV: News, Weather and Sports for Huntsville, AL

NCAA Women’s Swimming And Diving Championships: Day One Prelims

NCAA Women’s Swimming And Diving Championships: Day One Prelims

NCAA Women's Swimming And Diving Championships: Day One Prelims

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – The Auburn  women's swimming and diving team
kicked off the 2010 NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships
Thursday at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center on the campus of Purdue

"We started off the meet really strong with the 200 free relay,"
head coach Brett Hawke said. "However, we took a backward step like
we've done all year and we have to be better in the morning if we want
score some points at night. This team will regroup and will be strong
tonight and for the rest of the week."

The 200 free relay of Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace, Hannah Riordan,
Caitlin Geary and Melissa Marik put together a good start to the meet
for the Tigers. The quad swam a season-best time of 1:28.80 to qualify
fourth overall.

Reaching the championship final in the 200 IM will be senior Ava
Ohlgren. The 2008 national champion in the event qualified eighth
overall in a time of 1:56.72. After having to take part in a swim-off
for the eight spot in the 50 free, Vanderpool-Wallace qualified ninth
overall with an initial time of 22.32.

The team of Marik, Micah Lawrence, Ohlgren and Vanderpool-Wallace
qualified ninth overall in the 400 medley relay. The team finished in a
time of 3:34.17 and will swim in the consolation finals for the Tigers.

On the diving side of competition, Anna Aguero will represent Auburn in
the consolation final on the 1-meter springboard. The sophomore finished
15th during the prelims with a score of 290.35.

Finals are set to start at 7 p.m. EST with the 200 free relay and is
followed by the 500 free, 200 IM, 50 free, 1-meter diving and 400 medley

Auburn Swimming and Diving
2010 SEC Championships – Day One Preliminaries
Thursday, March 18, 2010
Gabrielsen Natatorium; Athens, Ga.

Auburn Finalists - Women: 200 Free Relay – Championship Final: 4.
Vanderpool-Wallace, Riordan, Geary, Marik (1:28.80); 200 IM –
Championship Final: 8. Ohlgren (1:56.76); 50 Free – Consolation Final:
9. Vanderpool-Wallace (22.32); 400 Medley Relay – Consolation Final:
9. Marik, Lawrence, Ohlgren, Vanderpool-Wallace (3:34.17); 1-meter –
Consolation Final: 15. Aguero (290.35).

Powered by Frankly