J.F. Shields Girls Advance to State Finals

This information was reported Thursday from the AHSAA website:

J.F. Shields 56, Sunshine 43

            J.F. Shields limited Sunshine to just 15 field goals Thursday night and rolled to the Class 1A girls state championship 56-43.

The victory closed out the Lady Panthers' first-ever undefeated season at 29-0 as the only undefeated AHSAA team in the state, boys or girls, in 2009-10.

Tyika Robinson earned MVP honors with 29 points, including 10-of-15 at the foul line. April Montgomery joined her on the All-Tourney team with 15 points and 20 rebounds for Coach Herbert Blackmon.

Mariah Jones and Carnnisha Huff each added seven points.

Shafontaye Myers, a senior who is heading to the University of Alabama, had 26 points to lead Sunshine (23-2). She also had 12 rebounds and was a perfect 8-of-8 at the free-throw line. Lacresha Rainer added 14 points and Tia Scott had 11 rebounds. JohnQuesha Childs also had nine boards.

The All-Tourney Team:

Tyika Robinson, J.F. Shields (MVP); Cyndra Kivette, Hackleburg; Shafontaye Myers, Sunshine; April Montgomery, J.F. Shields; Tara Mullinax, Spring Garden; Lacresha Rainer, Sunshine.