Tigers Face Alabama, Jan. 30 At 3pm Central

Auburn basketball (10-11, 1-5) looks for its sixth win in the last seven games against Alabama (13-7, 3-3) on Saturday at 3 pm Central in Beard-Eaves-Memorial Coliseum. Tickets are $20 each. The game is televised by the SEC Network and the game can be heard on the Auburn ISP Sports Network, www.auburntigers.com, and XM Satellite Radio Channel 199.

Auburn's 1985 SEC Tournament Champions will have a reunion this Saturday. There will be an autograph session on the northwest concourse from 2:15 - 2:45 pm for selected players. All of the players will be recognized during halftime ceremonies.

All of the players from the 1985 team will be present, including head coach Sonny Smith, Chuck Person, Chris Morris, Jeff Moore, Frank Ford, Gerald White, Vern Strickland, Terrance Howard, Darren Guest, Johnny Lynn, Carey Holland, Gary Godfrey, Howard Spencer, Rodney Turner and assistant Lawrence Johnson.

The 1985 Tigers became the first team to win four games in four days to win the SEC Tournament, defeating Ole Miss 68-60, LSU 58-55, Florida 43-42 and Alabama 53-49 in overtime in the championship game in Birmingham.

Auburn then defeated Purdue 59-58 in the NCAA Tournament first round in South Bend, Ind., for the first NCAA Tournament win in school history. The Tigers then upset No. 13 Kansas 66-64 before losing in the Sweet 16 to No. 7 North Carolina 62-56 in Birmingham. Auburn finished with a 22-12 record overall (8-10 SEC).

Auburn players from the 1980s are also part of the reunion and those players attending are Rick Bolling, Chris Brandt, Bobby Cattage, John Caylor, Paul Daniels, Rob Jones, Terry Martin, Alvin Mumphord, Eric Stringer and Darrell Thomas.

Assistant coaches who are attending are Gary Franks, Herbert Greene, Otis Johnson, Yvan Kelly and Jay Nidifer as well as trainer John Larkin, SID John Lewandowski and manager Michael Jones. Thirty-three former players, coaches and support personnel are attending.